Death on the Greasy Grass

Death on the Greasy Grass by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

Death on the Greasy Grass

by C. M. Wendelboe
(Berkley Prime Crime, 2013)

ISBN: 978-0-425-26325-9
$ 15 Trade Paperback

Cover illustration by Richard Tuschman
Cover design by Rita Frangie

The popular new series continues.
For readers of Tony Hillerman

FBI agent Manny Tanno is taking some much needed R&R at the site of the Battle of Little Big Horn. But when a death on the reservation cuts his vacation short, he learns that the secrets of the past have a way of stirring up trouble in the present.

As a scout for the infamous General Custer, Crow tribe member Levi Star Dancer kept a journal chronicling his exploits from the Battle of the Greasy Grass onwards. Now, the missing journal has been found and the descendents of those mentioned in the account, including Levi’s own, want to keep their family secrets hidden at all costs. . .

Manny’s trip to the Crow Agency Reservation turns out to be ill-timed when a reenactor of the Battle of Little Big Horn is killed right in front of him. It turns out the victim was the one who found Levi Star Dancer’s famed diary and was planning on selling it to the highest bidder. And while the dead body is hard to miss, the coveted book is nowhere to be found. Now, Manny has to watch his back while searching for a murderer and the missing journal, because this slippery killer will do anything to make sure the past stays buried.



"An exciting and quirky mystery that seamlessly shifts between past and present, offering a number of finely delineated characters and a strong sense of life on the reservation and the beauties of a hostile land."
Kirkus, Starred Review
'For books of remarkable merit, look for the Kirkus Star.'


There's still time to catch up . . .

Death Where the Bad Rocks Live

Death Where the Bad Rocks Live (Front Cover)

Death Where the Bad Rocks Live

by C. M. Wendelboe
(Berkley Prime Crime, 2012)

ISBN: 978-0-425-25611-4
$ 15 Trade Paperback

Cover illustration by Richard Tuschman
Cover design by Rita Frangie

Second in the popular new series.
For readers of Tony Hillerman



"Storytelling at its best."
Margaret Coel, New York Times bestselling author of
Buffalo Bill's Dead Now




"The pacing of the novel [Death Along the Spirit Road]. . . is distinctly native, something I haven't read since the departure of the old master, Tony Hillerman."
Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of
As the Crow Flies, latest in the Walt Longmire Mysteries
that inspired the hit A&E TV series Longmire


A reenactment of the Battle of Little Big Horn goes too far when a halfhearted participant winds up murdered in the line of duty—and FBI Agent Manny Tanno’s vacation is snuffed out right with him.

Even if Manny thought he could get out of there before being dragged into the investigation on the Crow Reservation, he wouldn’t have been able to avoid it for long when the chief suspect turned out to be a popular Pine Ridge Reservation politician.

The fleeing suspect puts Manny’s provisional partner in intensive care, and it looks like he might not pull through. Manny was just getting used to working with the promising novice tribal officer, and now he has to make do with his longtime rival, the tribal police chief on Pine Ridge, and overworked rookie federal cop on the Crow Reservation.

The victim, an auctioneer about to sell off a bunch of Indian relics, apparently was killed for the one item that comes up missing from the lot. The much-touted journal of one of General Custer’s Indian scouts is certainly worth an unimaginable amount of money as a historic artifact—but what’s worth even more is the untold secrets it contains.

Manny knows who committed the murder, he just has to find a break in the case to catch him. Once again, he has to resort to reluctantly seeking help from his convict-turned-holy-man brother. Nearly everyone else Manny encounters would kill anyone in their way—including Manny—in order to keep the records in that journal from seeing the light of day.

And from the darkest voids of Manny’s mind, at the worst possible moments, come visions that terrorize his very soul as the threats against his life amass
on the greasy grass. . .





And don't miss . . .

Death Along the Spirit Road

Death Along the Spirit Road by C. M. Wendelboe (Front Cover)

Death Along the Spirit Road

by C. M. Wendelboe
(Berkley Prime Crime, 2011)

ISBN-10: 0425240029
ISBN-13: 978-0-425-24002-1
$14 Trade Paperback

Cover illustration by Richard Tuschman
Cover design by Rita Frangie

First in the popular new series.
For readers of Tony Hillerman



Reading Guide

A reference for selected themes featured in Death on the Greasy Grass.



Glossary

Lakota language words featured in Death on the Greasy Grass.

PDF
Download Spirit Road Mysteries: Glossary



Map

A reference for places featured in Death on the Greasy Grass.